Time flys!

With the hustle and bustle of the Thanksgiving and then Christmas holidays, I really haven’t stop to think about he “New Year”.  Add to that a busy time at work and it’s pretty much gone unnoticed.  But today I heard someone on the radio say “It’s the last day of the decade” and it stopped me in my tracks.  Figuratively, not literally since I was driving.  But any way, it did make me stop and think about the past decade, or two.

I remember the last time we embarked on a new decade in 1999/2000.  That calendar flip brought a lot of change to my life.  In 1999, I became Gram for the first time to my sweet Brooklynn. In December of 1999 the bookstore where I worked was leased so my employer and all that stuff changed including my position, responsibilities and pay!  You probably, if you’re old enough, remember the panic that was Y2K.  All I  remember about that time was I lost my keys.  Never did find them, so I guess they were my Y2K casualty.

The 2000’s brought us another grand daughter, Madison and a promotion and new work challenge for me.  They also brought us one of our biggest heartbreak when we lost our sweet Daniel in 2003.

I could go on and on about the changes, good and bad we have experienced over the past decade or more but I won’t.  Let’s just say we have had great joys and devastating sorrow.  But most folks have.

As we enter the last few hours of this decade, and I look back, it’s not the jobs, cars, clothes or things that are in the forefront of my mind.  It’s the people and relationships that matter most.

And in that respect, I am truly blessed!  I look forward to 2020 and beyond!!

Happy New Year to you all!

Leave a comment